Kinka and Fathur. Past and Future.

Once upon a time, there was a popular girl in my block, named Kinka, whose hair was long, black, straight, and gorgeous. Kinka (I agree it was uncommon name) was a bright student at an elementary school nearby our block. I admited, she was pretty, even though she was not the prettiest. Many boys at our school (yes, we attended the same elemetary school) liked her because she was so friendly to the boys. She even got along better with the boys instead of the girls. She was a tomboy.

Meet Fathur, a boy who fell in love with Kinka. Fathur was an adamant boy. At any possible moment, he tried to attract Kinka’s attention. There was once Fathur met me in my neighborhood and then he asked me to tell Kinka that he would be Kinka’s future husband. It was sweet and cute actually, but wuuuttt?? Remember, we were still elementary school students back then. Appearently, Kinka was his first puppy love.

After graduated from their elementary school, Kinka and Fathur attended different junior high school. Kinka, influenced by me, attended a popular school in capital city, while Fathur had to move out to his village across Sunda strait, in Sumatera island. They communicated only by phone. Twice. In three years of junior high school period.

In their senior high school period, I do not remember how, but Kinka and Fathur had each other’s cellphone number. One day, Fathur informed Kinka that he had a girlfriend, named Rita. Kinka and I both were suprised. I thought, finally he met someone who loved him back. Good for him. While I was happy for Fathur, I noticed a slight negative feeling coming from Kinka. Kinka was in jealousy. Even though she said that she was fine, it was his life, it did not have something to do with her, and blablabla, I knew she was trying to cover her hurt pride. I have been wondering that perhaps Kinka was in love with Fathur too, but she did not know how to express it, or worse, she did not realise that she loved him back. Anyway. During our senior high school life, Kinka and Fathur had successfully lived their life peacefully and separately.

Fast forward to Kinka’s and Fathur’s story in university. Kinka continued her study in Bandung, while Fathur continued his study abroad. Right before Kinka entering her new life as university student, Kinka and her third boyfriend broke up. Being left alone and sad, all of sudden Kinka remembered that Fathur and her girlfriend has broken up too. A part of her thought, why would they break up? Letting Fathur go was not a good decision, in Kinka’s opinion. And then Kinka suddenly missed Fathur so much. Too bad, Fathur has already left the country.

Two years later, I met Fathur in my neighbourhood. Was I surprised? Of course, I was. He asked me about Kinka’s new cellphone number, and he said he was arranging a reunion for our elementary school fellas. It was gonna be a big surprise for Kinka, I thought. And yes, Kinka was surprised. Kinka could not stop telling me about how happy she was when she received a text message from Fathur telling her that he was in Indonesia.

After the reunion, Fathur returned to Germany and Kinka started having these weird things happen. First of all, Kinka keeps having a dream about Fathur in her sleep. It is not daily or regularly, but it is quite intense compared to the day before the reunion. The second, there are many random times when Kinka suddenly misses Fathur a lot. A lot like crazy, she said to me. And the last weird thing is that she feels like her heart dropped everytime she see Fathur’s photo. Those weird things have been happening to Kinka since the day Fathur returned to Germany, which is about three years ago. -_-

Now I wonder, does Kinka really fall in love with Fathur, or is it just a form of a friend missing another friend?

I do not know.

One thought on “Kinka and Fathur. Past and Future.

  1. Pingback: Three Girls, Three Stories. | Berbagi Beki

Leave a Reply

